Make a Gift

Department of Women's Studies

Department of Women's Studies

Awards descriptions
You are here: Home / Awards descriptions / The Sara Woods Graduate Fund in Women's Studies: Outstanding Graduate Student Award

The Sara Woods Graduate Fund in Women's Studies: Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Established by Sara Woods, Esq., to recognize outstanding graduate students enrolled or planning to enroll in the Dual Degree Program in Women's Studies.

The Sara Woods Outstanding Graduate Student Award recognizes outstanding graduate students who have achieved superior academic records or who manifest promise of outstanding academic success. Students must be in Penn State's Women's Studies dual degree program to be eligible for the award. (Minors are not eligible for the award at this time.)  Self-nominations are welcome. Applications should include:

  • A one-page statement from the applicant that addresses the way in which Women's Studies research has shaped his or her scholarship
  • Two letters of recommendation from faculty that focus on the applicant’s research
  • A current CV
  • A current transcript


Applications are due February 19, 2018. Please submit all materials in pdf form (except recommendations) to the Women's Studies Graduate Matters Committee at . Please ask your letter writers to send their recommendation directly to the same email address, preferably as an attached document. 


Previous Recipients:

2018 Elisabeth Garner

2017 Aparna Parikh

2016 Jenna Christian and William Paris

2015 Laura Sapelly

2014 Emma Mullaney

2013 Katie Marchetti

2012 Dana Cuomo and Sarah Kornfield

2011 Rachel Moran

2010 Alexa Schriempf

2009 Srijana Shrestha

2008 Crystal Endsley and Ruth Mendum

2007 Sushmita Chatterjee and Raena Quinlivan

2006 Natalie Jolly

2005 Jennifer Fluri

2004 Risa Whitson

2003 Corinne D. Mann-Morlet

2002 Kristin Jacobson, Dee May and Jill Wood

2001 Beth Widmaier

2000 Jamie Warner

1999 Lynne Fallwell

1998 Carmen Heider

1997 Lynn Freeman

1996 Anne Demo and Christina Jarvis

1995 Mary Yudin